/, Music, Vinyl/SMALL TOWN JONES Sky Down To The Ground
  • smalltownjonescover
  • smalltownjones

SMALL TOWN JONES Sky Down To The Ground


“Annoyingly good! Powerful stuff, absolutely beautiful!” Dermot O’Leary – BBC Radio 2

The last couple of years have proved promising for Devon, UK based singer-songwriter Small Town (Jim) Jones who’s built on the reception afforded his debut“Freight Ships” – playing numerous gigs around the UK, and returning to the studio for this welcome follow-up.

“Sky Down To The Ground” features some great guest musicianship from the likes of Son Volts Dave Boquist and folk singer songwriter Emily Barker as well as long-time friends and musicians Dave Little, Mike Reed and fellow label artist,Peter Bruntnell.


1 Before Everything Got Tied To The Ground
2 Truth And Lies
3 The Ocean And The Sky
4 Little Blackbird
5 Fear Of Drowning
6 The Sway of The Trees
7 Night Full of Ghosts
8 Absent Father
9 The Long Goodbye
10 Between The Lines

What the music press say about “SKY DOWN TO THE GROUND”…

“Vulnerable with scuffed edges to his voice in tune with the folk rock of early John Martyn” **** Q

“Wilco style tales of lost and lonesome outriders” – MOJO

“Songs of unpretentious honesty – like a British Ron Sexsmith” – UNCUT

**** The Daily Express

  • Second album from critically-lauded British singer-songwriter
  • Digisleeve with booklet package
  • Limited edition 140gm vinyl LP pressing also available here

Product Description

Jones’s songwriting and their intense and soulful rendering have earned him praise from the likes of Ray Davies, Ron Sexsmith, Peter Bruntnell, John Murryand Willy Vlautin. A popular live performer, Small Town Jones has opened for Ray Davies, Damien Jurado,Chuck Prophet and Richmond Fontaine.

The first single from this new album –“Night Full of Ghosts” has picked up strong airplay…and so, the momentum continues to build once more.

“Some records have an immediate impact – within a few bars you can feel the heft and weight of the songs. Though it’s just sound frequencies, they feel substantial. So it is with Jim Jones” – Americana UK

Watch ‘A Night Full Of Ghosts’ video here


Artist: Small Town Jones
Title: Sky Down to The Ground
File: Americana/Folk
Label: Domestico/Market Square
Cat: MSMCD173
UPC: 5060142770365
Rel: February 11th 2016

Additional Information


CD, Vinyl


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “SMALL TOWN JONES Sky Down To The Ground”