///ALAN HULL – Phantoms
  • Alan Hull Phantoms
  • Alan Hull at the piano
  • Alan Hull and friend
  • alan hull

ALAN HULL – Phantoms


Artist:               Alan Hull

Title:                Phantoms

File:                 Rock

Label:              Market Square

Format:           CD Audio

Cat.No:            MSMCD146

Barc:               5 030094 142121


  • Cult figure in UK folk rock


  • First time release on CD


  • 19 tracks


  • Extensive booklet notes with original artwork and previously unpublished photography

Product Description

Brit folk rock faves Lindisfarne were an enduring chart act of the early ‘70s, yet prone to fragmentation. Splitting in 1973, co-founder Alan Hull forged a successful solo career with albums ‘Pipedream’ and ‘Squire’.

Whilst, by late 1977 the band was back in business again, Hull was busy heading a new band, Radiator with former members of Snafu and Ginger Baker’s post-Cream group Airforce. With this line-up he would release Isn’t It Strange, the majority of which was repackaged in 1979 for Phantoms – both for Elton John’s Rocket Record Company.

This first time CD reissue compiles these albums (removing most track duplication) and adding five bonus demos from 1975. The collection forms a lasting reminder of Hull’s fluid, deceptively catchy, and pleasing melodies, and rich, deeply evocative phrasing and imagery.

Two songs from the Rocket period were resurrected on November 2005’s ‘The Hull Story’ – a memorable and poignant tribute concert to Alan Hull at Newcastle City Hall, featuring former Lindisfarne members and associates of this pioneering act.


Track Listing:


  1. I Wish You Well
  2. Anywhere Is Everywhere
  3. Make Me Want To Stay
  4. Dancing (On The Judgement Day)
  5. A Walk In The Sea
  6. Corporation Rock
  7. Madmen And Loonies
  8. Somewhere Out There
  9. Love Is The Alibi
  10. Love Is The Answer
  11. Isn’t It Strange
  12. Spittin’ In The Wind
  13. Lay Back And Dream
  14. Something Got The Better Of You
  15. Somewhere Out There
  16. Raw Bacon
  17. A Walk In The Sea
  18. Evening
  19. Dancing (On The Judgement Day)

Additional Information

Weight 0.100 kg



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “ALAN HULL – Phantoms”